Who Knew Job Hunting and Dating Were So Alike?*

So I have been deep in the job hunt for over a week now and I haven’t even got a call back. I think finding a job is seriously an endless series of rejections. I think that middle aged people who have been sitting comfortably in their position for too long have forgotten how hard it can be to go out and look for a job. I really believe that it would feel better to get a phone call or email from a prospective employer telling me that I’m not what they’re looking for. Instead I have to just assume that I’ve been rejected based on a lack of response. It’s like giving a guy your phone number and he doesn’t call you back (and we all know how shitty that feels) or even worse it’s like those assholes that don’t tell you they don’t want to date you anymore they just start dating your friend. As if them moving on counts as a break up call. Carrie got off easy with a post-it, cause at least Burger told her some how it was over. But really, looking for a job sucks. And it’s especially bad when you have a degree in Sociology and a diploma in Addictions Counseling. I have never worked so hard to try to find ways that my education and job experience qualifies me to do jobs like be an Executive Assistant, Human Resources, Customer Service Rep, etc. And I don’t even know if I want to do any of those jobs, but I just keep getting poorer and poorer and more and more bored so I apply for them and then get rejected anyway. At this point it’s feeling like a waste of time to even apply for those kinds of jobs, but when you have no clue what you want to do then what else would I apply for? I’ve heard people say to make a list of the top 10 companies in your town that you want to work for and then focus on finding a way into working for them. That would be great advise if I had a clue what I wanted. At this point I think I just want a job in anything and then I’ll be able to figure out if I like that field of work or not. Best case scenario I love it and have a direction, worst case I know something else I don’t like doing and get some money and experience out of the deal. Am I selling this as a reasonably good strategy?

Leave a Reply

